SHOWS

In our full season of main stage plays, development workshops, National Theatre Live screenings and other programming, you’ll leap into a unique adventure every time you walk through our doors. Read on to discover all of the exciting things we have in store for you.

“Word is out that Amphibian always delivers.” – Mark Lowry, Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Main Stage
Thursday, December 6, 2018 to Sunday, December 16, 2018

A look into one man's obsession with movies about another man's obsession with dressing up like a rodent and punching people.

More Information
National Theatre Live
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 to Saturday, December 15, 2018

Multi-award-winning drama The Madness of George III will be broadcast live to cinemas, in National Theatre Live’s first ever broadcast from Nottingham Playhouse.

Written by one of Britain’s best-loved playwrights Alan Bennett (The History BoysThe Lady in the Van), this epic play was also adapted into a BAFTA Award-winning film following its premiere on stage in 1991.

The cast of this new production includes Olivier Award-winners Mark Gatiss (SherlockWolf Hall, NT Live Coriolanus) in the title role, and Adrian Scarborough (Gavin and StaceyUpstairs DownstairsAfter the Dance).

It’s 1786 and King George III is the most powerful man in the world. But his behaviour is becoming increasingly erratic as he succumbs to fits of lunacy. With the King’s mind unravelling at a dramatic pace, ambitious politicians and the scheming Prince of Wales threaten to undermine the power of the Crown, and expose the fine line between a King and a man.

More Information
Main Stage
Friday, February 1, 2019 to Sunday, February 24, 2019
Main Stage
Friday, May 3, 2019 to Sunday, May 26, 2019
Main Stage
Friday, July 12, 2019 to Sunday, August 18, 2019
Main Stage
Friday, October 18, 2019 to Sunday, November 10, 2019
Metamorphosis
Saturday, December 7, 2019 to Sunday, December 8, 2019